The 1,492 foot long bridge connected the two sections of Fort Dodge; at 3rd Street, then going west across the Des Moines River and connecting at G Street in “West” Fort Dodge.
Blanden Art Museum
920 3rd Ave S
The Blanden Memorial Art Museum was constructed in 1932 as the first art museum in Iowa in the Historic Oak Hill District. Charles Blanden donated the funding to build the museum.
City Square and Gazebo
The “Square” has been a gathering place since Fort Dodge was first settled. In the year 1851, the square extended down to what is now 3rd Street and the area was used as a parade ground for the garrison of soldiers who were stationed at the nearby fort that was located north of the Square.
Dodger Stadium stands as one of the most impressive high school outdoor sports facilities in the state.
Fort Dodge High Bridge
One of the most massive bridges in Central Iowa crosses high above the Des Moines River and a neighborhood in Fort Dodge.
Harlan Rogers Park
1628 Nelson Avenue
Harlan and Hazel Rogers Ball Park is one of the best athletic and recreational facilities in the state. In 1967, Harlan and Hazel Rogers donated the land for the baseball and softball diamonds at Rogers Sports Complex which now host the Iowa High School Girls Softball Tournament.
710 1st Ave N
For the thousands who frequented the ballroom over the years, the brick building with loft seating that rings the wooden dance floor holds many special memories.
Oleson Park Band Shell
1400 Oleson Park Ave
The Oleson Park Band Shell marked a major departure from the small gazebo type bandstands which were constructed in the U.S. after the Civil War.
1019 2nd Ave. S
Spencer Beman designed a home for the Ringlands that exhibited Jacobethan Revival architecture, which featured unique brickwork, tall chimneys, multiple gables and rectangular window frames with leaded glass panes.
1422 1st Ave S
This space probably was used to provide temporary housing for homeless men and a space for socialization and meetings for prayer.
826 1st Ave N
The Young Woman's Christian Association was organized July 8, 1909. Mrs. John P. Dolliver was the first president and served until October, 1910, when she resigned and Mrs. George Ringland was elected president.